Walking onions, ready to start their trek

Walking onions, ready to start their trek

It’s always exciting to receive a parcel, and the brown envelope containing these ‘walking onions’ made my day – very kindly sent by Robert of This and that (whom this post is named in honour of.) Recently,  I read someone saying “of course, they don’t actually walk”. Well, actually, I beg to differ. They actually do walk – just a bit more slowly than we might be accustomed to. Each of these bulbils will eventually send up a long stemmed leg, on which another foot of bulbils will grow. The weight of its foot will bend the stem over a pace’s worth, and the foot will root, and grow another leg  to make the next step. I’m looking forward to their journey. (And of course it’s tasty all the way.)

“Of the tomato or love apple, I know very little. It is chiefly employed as a sauce or condiment. No one, it is believed, regards it as very nutritious; and it belongs, like the mushroom and the potatoe, to a family of plants, some of the individuals of which are extremely poisonous. Some persons are even injured, more or less, by the acid of the tomato.”

I hope these tomatoes will make me a very good dinner one day. For now, they appear to be happy as they are: they have remained the same size and colour for a fortnight. At least they look nice – especially when the evening sun is filtered through the hairy stems.

The proud chickpea

The proud chickpea

The chickpea is one of the most wonderful things to have come into being. I’ll be lucky to get a meal’s worth from my plants, but I’m growing them for joy, not self-sufficiency.

