Tiny round courgette (from a straight kind of plant), tomato-no-mates, and the mammoth radish

Tiny round courgette (from a straight kind of plant), tomato-no-mates, and the mammoth radish

Come 14th  July, my competitive juices will be flowing as I desperately seek out six perfect specimens for Matron’s Worldwide Veggie Show 2009. The only way I could have met the criteria so far is if I’d thought to line up my harvest of snails – then I could definitely have found six of uniform, size, shape, and colour from my well-tended crop.

But in the meantime, I want to celebrate the other veg – those that don’t look the same, but we love them anyway (and I think I might love them more). I’ve not managed to grow anything rude or odd yet, but I have plenty that don’t meet any aesthetic ideals – or in the case of my tomatoes, don’t add up to six yet. So for rude and odd I’ll have to send you to the Guardian’s gallery of wonky veg – timed to celebrate the lifitng of the EU’s ban on curvy cucumbers and other such monstrosities.

